How did you organize your archive?

How did you organize your archive?

How do you store files? What hardware do you use? What software do you use?

How do you catalog the files in your archive? What software do you use?

I want my archive to be reliable. I want to find files in archive quickly. I want to use automated archiving and cataloging tools, schedule. I want to make few copies of archive automatically. I want to store copies of archive in different locations. I run Windows 10 Home 64-bit.

@MarioPeper, @YAFU, @birdnamnam, @StarMango, how did you organize your archive?

3D and Blender is just a Hobby for me, so I don’t have a lot of projects. Besides good files and folders naming practice, Dolphin file browser on Linux (KDE) is enough for me. It has a file search feature and basic preview for .blend files. Periodically I manually backup the files to another physical disk.

2 Likes

I second @YAFU. I’m a hobbyist too, so I just make backups once in a while. Nothing fancy here.
As for the hardware part, nowadays ssds are dirt-cheap. If I had the cash in hand right now, I would prefer a super fast nvme as the main drive (OS and apps) let’s say at 1TB drive, and I would definitely go for a large ssd for fast storage, at least a 2TB unit. Either a cheap nvme, or a SATA ssd. For long term storage I would pick a classic hdd raid.

2 Likes

Asset Wizzard i use all the time for every object and every material I create. It creates an optimised Blender file (.blend).
So I can also save everything else in it, e.g. LuxCore materials. Most (large) work files can be deleted after the project. Additionally, i secure on usb-stick. No special backup software or something like that.

1 Like

@YAFU, @birdnamnam, @MarioPeper, thank you. I took into attention.

Mario, usb-stick is the same as USB flash drive?

Yes, I use it for my daily work

1 Like

@MarioPeper

Mario, thank you. I took into attention.