how difficult would it be to make the boolean modifier multy threaded?

It seems the modifier only uses one 15% load and I am running on an 8 core xeon system.
Boolean operations can be quite slow when the input meshes are using subdivision surfaces.

A speed boost could really propel the usability of the modifiers alot - specifically because 3d printing becomes
something very accessible and still with good subdivision surface surfaces you can simulate a lot of NURBS precission modeling.

I’m not a programmer but I would imagine quite difficult if the mesh was continuous.
Even if you could speedup/multithread boolean modifier with mesh/s that is made up of multiple separate elements already (for example roof tiles), that would be extremely welcome.

No a programmer here either - but the slow computation time can really discourage users from using the boolean as an interactive tool.

And Blender compared to Modo is so much usable because of the modifiers being interactive !!!

It depends, it doesn’t sound to me like the Boolean modifier has the kind of operations that be easily be split into a parallel process.

The boolean modifier for example looks to be working on the entire mesh at once, and you need to note that not everything can just be told to use multiple cores and it magically speeds up, it needs to have processes in the code that can afford the ability to be divided among multiple cores.

I guess if you split the mesh into virtual segments or tiles for each thread to work on it might theoretically work, but then you might have issues on how to deal with triangles that would go across those divisions, it’s not really an easy thing to answer unless you got a reply from an actual coder.