How Do I Add An Image to a Sphere as a New Layer?

I’ve never used Blender before, but after finding out that Adobe Illustrator cannot make the logo that I need I have turned to Blender. The logo I want to make is similar to a link I tried to post, but couldn’t and I have already figured out how to make a sphere, but I cannot figure out how to add a .png file as a new layer to wrap around the sphere. If I can upload the .png I want to use and have it wrap around the sphere like this URL I tried to post, but couldn’t after which I will follow this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Ow9ftNlnbo&feature=related to make the 3d letters.

So far I have to say that the Blender UI sucks big time. It’s horrible to navigate, is nothing like Adobe or any other editor I’ve ever used, and it doesn’t even use normal symbols for navigation. I just found myself uploading an image and getting stuck looking at a giant square with a horizontal line down the center with no “x” visible to close the window.

You need to indicate what you are wanting to do. You can report your post (small triangle in the bottom left corner) and say what link you want adding to your post. Remember blender is not an image editor so you’ll just confuse yourself if you think in terms if illustrator or photoshop or other 2d editors.

I’ve found what looks like a good tutorial to follow http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2Z8ypK-I-U unfortunately at 2:50 he opens a new window and when I tried to open it I opened up something vertically in addition to a new menu that has transform and grease pencil on it.

I cannot close either the new window or that menu because I don’t see an icon on any of them to click in order to close. I tried using control + z for undo and that did not work. How do close things in Blender?