How do I make Sirl's using only text runing in BGE, so a chatbot in-game?

here is what I have from a python video

"
import random

greetings = [‘hola’,‘hello’,‘hi’,‘Hi’,‘hey!’,‘hey’]
random_greeting = random.choice(greetings)

question = [‘How are you?’,‘How are you doing?’]
responses = [‘Okay’,“I’m fine”]
random_response = random.choice (responses)

####raw_input was changed to just input in the new python I found-out
while True:
userInput = input(’>>>’)
if userInput in greetings:
print(random_greetings)
elif userInput in question:
print(random_response)
else:
print(“I did not understand what you said”)
"

Rather then printing in a command console I’d like to change Text objects
so I wanted to replace “print” with

"
import bge

cont = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
own = cont.owner
#I would replace print with own.text =
own.text =“The new text I want”
"

I’m new to programing in python, my game runs but doesn’t respond. Is it running too many times / to fast even if I lowered the games Frame rate as low as it will go?
Please help me out.
I’m trying to make a text only based adventurer game like the old 90’s pc games for the BGMC going on right now.

> text
> bge
choose one

Both, blender game engine has text objects,
as I said I want to replace “print” with this down below.

cont = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
own = cont.owner
own.text =“The new text I want”

so I don’t need a command console
rather the game object Text would change it’s Str Variable

When posting code please use code tags. Otherwose it is nearly unreadable.

This link might help you:
Can’t make BGE to accept the string “
” string in exptression to activate an actuator

Yeah, don’t be absurd. The BGE, and any other game engine that supports text and input checking, can do text-based games just fine.