How do I merge/attach a simple picture or logo to text?

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to Blender but have gotten to know the basics and I absolutely love it. I’m still learning and it’s such a sense of reward when I do something new every time. But I have stumbled across a problem I don’t know how to solve, and I’m reaching out to the helpful members of the community, hoping for a solution. Here goes:

Situation:
I have a small 2D picture of a viking helmet (I will post pictures up when I get home as I’m currently at work).
I also have some 3d text that I’ve created - “Nordic Gainz” - lets just say this text is plain and I want to apply a concrete texture later on.
I want to attach the viking helmet to one of the letters, specifically the ‘o’ in ‘Nordic’.

Question:
How do I simply attach the helmet picture to the ‘o’ so that it looks like the ‘o’ is wearing the viking helmet?

Additional points:
I managed to import the picture of the helmet, make it 3d, and position it so it looks like it’s resting on the top of the letter ‘o’. But this isn’t what I want, I want to make it look like the ‘o’ is wearing the helmet and thus I assume I need to somehow make the two become one.I really hope someone can help. Thanks in advance and I look forward to answering any questions anyone has.

If you don’t want to model the helmet, you might be better of rendering the 3d text, then merging both of those images using a image program, like photoshop or gimp.

Thanks @starplayer. I did think this but thought there might be a way to attach the helmet to the text in some way.

OK. So. My next question, then, is once I have combined the helmet with the letter ‘o’ - what do I do next. Assuming I should simply import this image (as it will be 2d) into blender… and then model it and turn it into 3d?

What do you think?