How do I set alpha cutouts?

Here’s a scene below, the blender file is attached. How do I specify the cutout texture so that the flowers will be trimmed away? I have an all-alpha texture (grayscale, with alpha, also my original texture has an alpha channel) but can’t figure out how to make Blender use the alpha. I suspect it’s something easy, “set this raytrace flag”, “set that use alpha flag”, but can’t figure it out and couldn’t find any related posts.

I’m an absolute beginner with Blender; I’m trying to make a little beginner tutorial for my Mineways program (see this link), but it’s the blind leading the blind. The cutout textures I’ve made work fine for previewers like SAP Viewer Complete and G3D, but I can’t figure out the trick to make them work for Blender. I’ve attached the original Wavefront OBJ files I generated and imported into Blender - any advice on how to change these to import to Blender (which is my primary target for rendering, since it’s free) is also massively appreciated.

Eric

http://i.imgur.com/hzRcA.png

Attachments

flowers.blend (509 KB)flowers_obj.zip (109 KB)

See attached blend
For the alpha textures enable the RGB to Intensity checkbox in its texture Influence settings.
For all materials receiving a shadow from a transparent object enable ‘Receive Transparent’ in its Material / Shadow panel so you get correct shadows cast.

Attachments

flowers.blend (879 KB)

Excellent information, Richard, thanks very much. I’m closer, but still can’t reach your results in your blend file by myself (and I sat loading your file and my file, taking screen shots, trying to figure out the difference - I don’t see it). The problem is my alpha cutouts are now fringed, it looks like the ray hits the surface and if alpha > 0, then it stops and does not pass through. In your version it does pass through and so picks up and blends in the color behind the object.