How do you go about making a character switch mechanic?

(Camos1011) #1

I haven’t found any fleshed out tutorials on how to do this given that I’m a dumb newbie. I have the ai I need sorted out but, switching between characters or even objects I’m finding difficult. The subjects that do mention this only want it as a secondary thing.
Think RTS character cycling but, for a TPS.
Please help.

(Camos1011) #2

I was tinkering around with this mechanic and was trying to alter the button configuration to be wasd based instead of mouse based.
Would be nice to have some help.
Thanks

character select mechanic save2.blend (362.2 KB)

(Cotaks) #3

What do you exactly want? just something to switch characters?

You can handle this in a few ways.

The easiest is to change the mesh into an other mesh. Or by adding the player, then remove it add a new object and keep using the new object.

Or are you looking for a working navmesh pathfinding?

anyway something to look at:
replacemesh: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=McvR80-t3P8
pathfinding with navmesh: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMWeTXL98mM

In your blend, target script needs the converting of mouse to keyboards, same thing with target , mouse click should be replaced with a keyboard sensor, so instead of clicking with the mouse you need to press a key.

(jesusmora) #4

switch character as in, you have two characters in two places and you want to move the camera and controls beetwen them? or as in, you have two character and you want to replace one for another?

it’s quite easy, you need a property in both characters (let’s call it “active”), when you press the switch button, the active character’s property becomes True, and the other False, and when you press it again it changes it.

if switch_button.positive:
    if char_1["active"] == True:
          char_1["active"] = False
          char_2["active"] = True
    elif char_2["active"] == True:
          char_1["active"] = True
          char_2["active"] = False