How does Blender compare to Cinema 4D?

Hello everyone,

I have some experience working with Cinema 4D, but I’d like to work with Blender as well. I would like to know what would be the benefits. My typical work is product visualization - I work in a graphic design agency that designs brochures and we do our portfolio thing in Cinema 4D (http://www.brochuredesignservice.com). Nothing too complex, but I am a little worried about Blender learning curve. Any thoughts?

Did you take experience working in blender?
What the difference between blender and cinema?

There are youtube videos where current C4D users give their first impressions of trying Blender. There are also advanced C4D users who have switched to Blender like Ducky3D on youtube.

The main difference is that Blender does not have any of the motion graphics focused special tools that Cinema 4D has.

Cinema 4D all around feels better optimized. I believe there’s a reason why many consider it the easiest 3D software to learn. While at the same time, it’s capable of making anything anyone does in 3D really.

By optimized I mean:

• The menu system is incredibly transparent, which is very difficult in such complicated software.

• The Scene structure and origination, imo is beautifully done. Other software’s seem to borrow from legacy CAD/Maya style organization which is clunky and limited. It makes sense if you need a bill of materials for a 3000 part CAD product. But not so much for organizing art. In C4D you can set it up that way, but it’s completely customizable to an astounding degree.

• The data for your scene objects and textures is clean in C4D. As in, Blender seems to just throw all of you data and options at you all at once like “HERE! ITS ALL HERE!”. One of the first things I noticed is the cube in your default scene… You click on it’s name and in a dropdown you now see “cube” and it’s green. And it’s like why? None of that is needed. Vertex groups at the top of the object menu?