How hard is 3D art? Should I proceed?

Hi, I’ve done just a few tutorials(Mostly from “Blender3D from Noob to Pro wiki”) so I’m not good at all, I’m also really lousy at drawing IRL!
Anyway to the point, I need to come up with a project for school (Got like half a year to get the work done) and I cannot come up with something at all!
Since I do find this stuff a bit interesting I was thinking of perhaps doing something in Blender 3D but I’m worried…

I was thinking of some low poly project, perhaps a house with furniture and stuff inside? Kinda along the lines of this: http://maria.nygrens.info/gallery/3DStudioMax?page=3
So I’m wondering if you guys could set me straight here:

1. Should I do this or is it too hard for me?
  2. If I should proceed with this, can you give me some tips on what to think about?
  3. If anyone know a good tutorial on these kind of stuff please tell me!

Oh and I’m sorry if this is off topic but I’m not really sure where this belongs. I was thinking of off-topic at first but this is related to 3D and Blender.

Modeling isn’t hard, just a different medium. For me it’s easier to draw organic, but harder to draw geometry.In 3D is vise versa. Geometry (manmade) i think is much easier to model then organic (natural) in the 3D world. Here’s a tutorial I like on How to model, texture and render a photorealistic kitchen.

This is the link to the tutorial ronthehybrid was referring to: http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/model-texture-and-render-a-photorealistic-kitchen-in-blender-and-yafaray/

As to your question, I’d say give it a try but be patient. The tutorial above is really good, everything is explained step by step. My guess is you’ll learn quickly by following along.
Good luck!

Hah that seems like a really great tutorial, it felt very newbie friendly.

Thanks guys! :smiley:

Be prepared for a lot of incoming questions in the future! :evilgrin: