How How can I make a walkthrough with a navigation window ?

Hi all!
I am still a newbie for Blender. I’m using Blender for architectural visualizations. This is my problem. I want to make a walkthrough with a navigator window. I mean when camera’s view playing, in an another small size window(plan of the house or building) should indicate the position where camera’s moving. So anyone know how can I solve this problem? Using python script probably make this happen?

sure. have two cameras, 1) the walkthru and 2) orthographic in top view, way high. add a dot way high, and constrain it to copy the XY (but not Z) location of camera one. As camera 1 moves around the house, the dot will shadow it. composite the two cameras, probably camera two in the corner. Instead of a dot you could use a traingle, and also copy rotation to make it face like camera 1 is.

It could be done by rendering the walkthrough and nav window as separate elements and then using the Compositor to bring them together into a single image. If you want to have them both render out at the same time, things get more complicated, and would depend somewhat on the nature of the nav window art and animation. I’ve used separate Scenes combined in the Compositor using Render Layers and such nodes as Translate and Scale to good effect for similar kinds of things, mainly title art and text overlays, but I think a nav window would be feasible using the same process.

EDIT____
PapaSmurf, good idea on the nav map production, I’m taking notes :smiley:

Thanks PapaSmurf. I understood what you meant.According to your concept what’s the output? I guess it might be a video. Am I right? So if it is then how can I composite it? Video editing software must be needed? Otherwise don’t you know any interactive method ,something out put is a .exe ?