How is Blender constituted?

Hello there.

I’m really new to the open source thing generally. Of course I knew open source for long but only as in “it’s free, which is good”, but I never really thought about how those projects are organized.

As I’m having looks at blender for a couple of weeks (as a hobbyist) I get more and more interested in how it is organized, but cant seem to fully get a grasp on it. The things I have trouble grasping with are: People with the authority to decide things are necessary (or else nothing gets done), but who decides who’s deciding when the project belongs to everybody/nobody?

What I get is: Blender is for everybody and theoretically by everybody. Everyone can contribute. Yet there needs to be still someone who can decide what is added or not to blender, right? So it’s not clouded with double features and things that contradict themselves, or now with a new UI-autority, what is fitting in the UI, the workflow, etc. So that the content fits in a context.
What I dont get: Who decides who those people with authority are? In a company that would be a CEO for example, yet Ton is not the CEO, there is no CEO, even more Ton has absolutely no power, as he said in a talk on the bcon.
Ton, in fact, is only managing the foundation, whose unchangable goals make it just forward money to devs right? Or does the foundation have a say in what gets funded and what not? Because if so, Ton wouldn’t be so powerless at all.

Is it like this?: The blender foundation follows it’s own agenda concerning improving blender, but because it’s open, everyone who else is able to get funding or develop something is invited to add it into blender (or improve existing features). But then you still would need someone to decide to add that external thing or not. Who is this and on whose authority does he decide?