how is my beetle??

hi guys, i am blender (or for that matter CG) n00b. i have been using blender for the past 6 months or so.
http://www.geocities.com/anuraag_01/3d/beetle.jpg
this is not my first, but i guess my best work so far. this model was made from scratch with the help of a blueprint from www.suurland.com. it was done entirely in blender and even rendered using the internal renderer.

tell me what u guys think of it, and what more (or less) i need to do.

-anuraag
www.geocities.com/anuraag_01

Hi anuraag.

Let me be a little hard on the critic (I’m also a newby).
I think that it’s very hard to model a car without good skills in modelling. IMO you have been cheaky.

To be more specific:
The wall needs some volume effect. You have to use a bump map
Can you post the wired mesh? It looks squared instead of rounded. If you didn’t use subsurf, you should or maybe you subsurfed but you have to increase the number for rendering.
Also the smooth option have to be used
You have to improve the close surfaces so they match to each other smoothly (for instance the door surface seems to have had a crash)

anuraag,

I have to agree with opinador, your car mesh is a bit rough and the material settings need some work, but at the same time, this is a great first work if you’re new to Blender or 3D art in general. Keep it up!

If you can provide a wireframe, it can help us help you fix some problems in your mesh. If you’re not sure how to do that, you should conect to irc.freenode.net and come chat with us in #blenderchat … we’ll be more than happy to help you out there.

spiderworm