How long do you work on a project at one time?

I just started with blender and I can only sit for a couple hours then I get impatient and jump over to some gaming, LOL.
What is the average time you guys sit and work on a project at once? 2 hours or 5 hours? I can see if you already know blender that would make it much easier but I am still learning the interface and such so maybe thats why I get impatient.
:-?

I spent almost a month on and off my TIE Interceptor.

Expect to spend at least a few days (solid) on the average project if you want it to look good. Works in Progess is a great forum for getting feed back. Until they-and I-are happy with my work, and my original intent for the scene is represented in whole in the scene do I post it in Finished Projects.

It’s ok to only spend a few hours on some things at first. As progress challenge yourself once in a while with a scene or model and get solid feedback and critiqueing (don’t be afraid to heavy feedback like that, it’s hard at first…it was for me, but it’s helped a lot!) on it. Otherwise you never grow.

As you progress you’ll gain a real passion for finishing and polishing your work, no matter the size.

Hope that helps.

If it’s for work: 6-7 hours a day with little breaks here and there for lunch and to take care of pressing stuff. And quickly days turn into weeks…

For fun: just a few hours here and there. Between raising two kids, renovating my house and a bazillion hobbies that’s all I have time for.

Aye at the beginning, as you are learning you will probably end up hopping off to something else, like gaming. I’ve found that as I’ve been doing this I’ve spent less time gaming and more time modelling, to the point I don’t play games much anymore hehe. As you become more comfortable with the software and workflow you will produce things faster and better and so will be more motivated to keep on working.