how long to get good

Hi, This is a question for the pros and experts out there. How long did it take you to master blender to the point where you could create models like those in the gallery section of blender.org? I am very new to 3d modeling (other than using CAD for part design) and am excited to learn blender but i’m just wondering how long it will take before i can produce something good. Also once you have mastered blender how long does it take you to create a professional looking render?

um id say about 3 weeks. yeah 3 weeks should do it. give or take a day.

and usually the professional stuff can be done in about an hour if youre good. mastering stuff is so much quicker these days.

tom was joking. i’m a noob too but i used to do alot of analog art (drawing, painting, etc…on paper and canvas) what i learned there will still apply. like every other skill it is going to vary person to person, some people will have a natural talent that will allow them to learn very quickly. others will have to work twice as hard to learn half as fast.

but even the untalented can learn, and just like the art i did the more you do it the better you will be. nobody can tell you how long it will take. just keep working at it. even when it seems you’ll never get it. and try not to stress. sometimes we try too hard and that works against us. then when we finally relax it just seems to get much easier all of a sudden.

and the reality is that while i believe we can all get good, i believe few of us can be great. i can draw and paint, but nobody is going to mistake me for devinci. being a master takes a combination of skill and natural talent. the good part you can learn. i think th great part is something some are born with the potential for then have to learn and develop the skill.