How many architects here?

I’ve read carefully the blender vs real players tread and I’ve found it very interesting. I think there’s a lot of architects or mechanical designers who would benefit of a set of cad-like tools in blender.
I don’t think that blender can become an indipendent cad platform, but some more tools to help in having precise measures while creating/modifying objects would surely help!

I think that on-the-fly snap and 2D easy drawing are also features that would make every blender user happy!

So, architects, web designers, please reply… let’s become more visible!

I’ll begin the count:

Architects: 1

Mechanical Design Engineer : 1

I do my engineering and design in Pro/E but I import via SLP to Blender for renderings and visualization. My clients have used my Blender renderings in their product packaging, catalogues, and advertisements.

industrial designer =1

Alltaken

While I am not a professional and all . . . I would really like blender to have these tools. So, I will tally my vote

Hopeful Student = 1 :smiley:

The ox thinks numerically.

ox=1

i have miscelaneous cad and design skills
those ideas would be great

industrial design : 1.0000001

Insutrial design: 2.0000001 :wink:

Zsolt

Well, technically… I guess my web design could benefit greatly from precise blender tools. Then I’d be able to better incorporate senseless, though very pretty, graphics.
edit Oh yeah, and I’m working on a few 2d games. Precise measurements could help things looking smooth if I were to create sprites from models I make in Blender, as grumbel is doing with Windstille right now…/edit

Web designer ++
edit Game developer ++ */edit

Civil Design Tech = 1

I would benifit of some improved tools in terms of making objects more percise, but I don’t expect blender to become a CAD type program.

Draftsman += 1

I’m a Mechanical Engineering student, so I use Pro Engineer occasionally.

Draftsman +=2