How much money have you spent on CG?

Hey,
I was wondering how much money you have already spent on SOFTWARE such as programs, addons, courses, models etc.?
:money_mouth_face: :money_with_wings: :moneybag:

• $ 0
  • $ 1 – 20
  • $ 21 – 50
  • $ 50 – 100
  • $ 100 – 250
  • $ 250 – 500
  • $ 500 – 1000
  • $ 1000 – 2000
  • more than $2000

0 voters

And how much did you spend on Hardware such as computer components, monitor, tablets or other peripheral devies?

• $ 0 – 500
  • $ 500 – 1000
  • $ 1000 – 1500
  • $ 1500 – 2000
  • $ 2000 – 3000
  • $ 3000 – 4000
  • more than $ 4000

0 voters

I started learning Blender in 2016. A little over four years ago.

I learnt a lot of stuff just by experimenting and watching some free tutorials on YouTube. Any questions I had were asked here on this site. I never paid for any tutorial or guide.

The only things I have ever paid for are two things: Pro Lighting Skies, and a credit pack for Poliigon. That’s it. I managed to do everything else with free stuff available online. There are lots of great CC0 textures to use, and many places to get free things. Sometimes, I would grab a model from the free selection on sites like turbosquid, blendswap or sketchfab. NASA also has a free library of space related models.

In total, I have spent probably $100 (AUD).

Another thing to note: I am probably a bit different from everyone else here as I have a feeling many pay for tutorials and things like that. I am only currently doing it as a hobby.

1 Like

I bought the grass essentials pack which was like £80? And I’ve also bought a sculpting brushes pack for like £40. I think that’s it. Most of the stuff I’ve used for blender has been free.

1 Like

rough estimate 400$
for addons, blender fund, free addons, substance painter, substance smart materials/brushes, alphas

1 Like