How should I go about animating a complex weapon?

Hello,
I’m pretty new to Blender in general, and the past months I just focussed on hard surface. My current goal is to create an AK rifle with a “functional” mechanism. So when the trigger is pulled, the hammer should hit the bolt, the carrier should be pushed back, fling the shell out, cock the trigger again, and chamber a new bullet.

Now the ridiculous part: the rifle should be rigged to a set of first person arms and be usable in unreal engine as a first person weapon (because reasons).

The modelling is pretty much finished, so now I’m starting to think about the animation aspect. I never animated a thing in my life before, and moving the carrier back and forth with keying the x-movement is my level of experience in animation.

So before I go and make a big mess, I thought I’d get my thoughts checked here.

That’s what I got in my head so far:

• Animating the parts in local mode and parenting them together will keep the animation no matter how the rifle itself is positioned

• I can use drivers to trigger animations. So if the trigger has rotated x degrees, it’s enough for the hammer to be released and hit the bolt. > If the hammer has rotated x-degrees (or moved if you will), the carrier will sling back. > etc.

• additionally, I can use a bone for the carrier, I can drag the carrier back and forth as if it was a physical object, effecting the other parts depending on the carrier’s position. So it’s all about fine tuning the drivers.
  • since all these logics rely on local coordinates, it is irrelevant how parent-rifle is located globally, so I can easily rig the parent with a single bone, and all other animations will follow along (Do all parts need to share a vertex group weighted 1, or just the parent?)