How to adjust a seed parameter for procedural textures?

Hello! I am new to Blender and currently in intense process of learning it. I have a long experience with other 3d software so please forgive me if my question is biased too much by my previous experience and maybe out of blender’s workflow philosophy.

Anyway, I was wondering if there is any way to manually adjust a random generator’s “seed” parameter for procedural textures such as voronoi, clouds, marble, etc.? I couldn’t find any “seed” field in texture properties panel or any other place. Is it not implemented at all or there is some tricky way to do it from other place, such as node editor or python console?

P.S. I checked almost all of procedural textures (for Blender Internal and Cycles) and was quite surprised that none of them had any “seed” field. In my opinion, this is very important and basic feature, without it the whole purpose of procedural textures is almost lost.

for cycles you do have the info node which allows to make some random values fed to the proc texture!
can have like random location ect…

also texture nodes now have a vector input on which you can add another texture
to modify the first one!
that should help get more randomness!

happy bl

Thank you very much!
The info about vector input was very useful!
But could you please explain a little more about “info node”. Did you mean “random” output of object info node? If so, I didn’t get how it works. For example, I connected it to vector input of voronoi node but it just made whole surface plain grey.

I have generally gotten around lack of the seed value by offsetting the texture by certain amounts, when you offset it by a large enough value, you can’t even tell it’s using the same seed because it doesn’t repeat.

Just grab the offset XYZ sliders and let it rip.

@@RickyBlender
Big thanks for the link. Very, very interesting information.

@@Ace_Dragon