How to adjust the "speed" of an animation

Hi,

I am very new to blender and 3d in general. I have my first real animated project how i want it except that it runs too fast. When I animated it in the first place I wasn’t really thinking about frame rates while placing keyframes. Is there a way to add a set number of frames between each keyframe?

Thanks

First of all, I’d like to say, welcome to the Blender community, and elysiun.com. we’re glad to have you, and we hope you make the best of Blender.

Okay. In the buttons window at the bottom of the screen, you can go to the render buttons, (the button with the mountain and the sun) In the far right panel, you can change the frame rate, where it says fr/sec. The default is 25, but you can lower it. Or, you can go to the NLA editor, and you’ll see the individual keyframes for each object, and you can move those how ever much you want.

hi mben12

I too am new (6 months old) so I hope this is the answer you need. You can set the first frame of an animation by selecting frame 1 as a key frame (IKEY) then using the up/down and left/right keys on the keypad to jump ahead as many frames as you want, then adjust your scene (move objects to their desired position for this frame), then use IKEY to select the second keyframe. Blender creates all the frames between the two you selected (using IKEY) by interpolating the movement of anything that changed position between those two keyframes.

A good view to se how the scene is changing over time is obtained by CTRL-LEFTARROW. This produces a view (usually the camera view), a list of objects in the scene, an ipo window (this is a very useful, graphical method for seeing how things are moving but takes a while to get used to) and a playback button so you can see the scene moving (without shadows and textures) like it would once it was anim ated. (CTRL-RIGHTARROW to get back to the original view)