How to animate linked objects?

I wonder if there is a way to animate (individually rotate and move) linked-to structures consisting of parented/grouped objects with no armature?

This couple of recent tweets may help:

Laxy:
Bah! Seems I can’t have multiple instances of the same linked character and animate them independently yet. #b3d #featurerequest #please

Ton Roosendaal:
Blender proxy only allows 1 proxy per instance for speed . Just duplicate the .blends or chars and instance them each as workaround. @Laxy

Hi

First of I just want to say that I’m just starting to ready about how to link and animate, so I have no actual experience but theory yet…

I think you might find dupligroups interesting from what I’ve read searching the Internet it is a method to animate multiple instances of the same object and its advantages in when compared to a proxy :

• when having a prop consisting of more than one object you could select and animate them as a single object.
  • Adding or removing a objects from the group in the library will cause the group to update accordingly in your shot file/s.

wiki manual link on how to create dupligroups:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Modeling/Objects/Duplication/DupliGroup

anyways proxy and dupligroups is the two only methods for linked object level animation I’ve found.

Hope it was of some use :slight_smile: