How to Bake odd texture?

Any advice about how to bake this texture?
When i do it in the conventual way i get the second image below.
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to baking. It seems to ignore the wave and noise texture nodes.

here is the node set up and the ideal final image on the right of the nodes.

baked image

What’s your bake resolution? Is there a change if you increase it by a few times?

Hi Chris,

did you have the bake type set to GLOSS - because the elaborate swirls in your render are actually reflections - you’re using a gloss shader.

Dj.

Thanks @CarlG @DamianJ

I tried a higher res and got the same results.
Also selecting the bake type to gloss created the same effect as the one i tried first so no change.

I’ve never baked gloss, and I didn’t click on the image so I didn’t notice. How does it look when you feed the image into the gloss shader? I suspect that’s how it’s supposed to work - bake the image instead of relying on potentially complex node setups, but it doesn’t bake the “effect of gloss” which is view dependent anyway which I believe can’t be baked. I could be wrong though, I rarely bake at all.

As @CarlG says, true reflections are view dependent, so unless you make the material that you apply the baked texture to also Glossy, then the reflections are ‘fake’.

Here’s my take on the result - a weird christmas bauble - I baked the Glossy pass ( you could also use the Combined) and then assigned the result to a 100% emmisive material so that the HDR that is reflected in the ‘true’ object ( on the left ) doesn’t affect the result of the bake. As you can see, although the bake does contain reflected shapes of itself and the environment ( clouds ) the ‘true’ object has additional ‘real’ reflections that are entirely driven by the view the camera is seeing it from.