How to balance life with career in 3D art?

I’m looking for a different kind of support today. I hope one or two of you have experienced the same thing!

I’m a husband and father of two. I love my family and love to support them. My career in 3D is extremely rewarding, but as with many careers is very demanding on my time! Between managing deadlines and projects I can get lost/buried in my work. I work full time as a 3D generalist, as well as freelance clients on the side. I’m also chasing down a long time dream teaching digital art online with a side business. I’d love to just leave my job and do this, but I need to pay my bills!

Those of you with careers/businesses and families, how do you balance things? Family is my priority, but I also want to succeed as an artist/business owner. Thanks in advance for any advice you have to offer.

Nose candy.

Edit because this community is full of differently smart people.
jpg_300x300
They give you enough sugar to stay awake and complete all your tasks.

1 Like

A guy asks for help and you tell him to snort cocaine?

2 Likes

Go freelance and cut down your spending. I find that parent’s freelancing has a positive impact on the kids. However freelancing is hard and tedious.

I would not advise adding a drug addiction to your list of problems to solve.

but it does sound like, if you need more time, either that primary job, or the freelance jobs have to go. If the primary job isn’t paying you enough, it might be time to negotiate a raise, or find a new one.

1 Like

I work as a freelancer. With my first kid I took 10 months paid paternity leave and stayed at home for 12 or so more months unpaid after the 10 months were used up. During these 12 months my wife worked full time and I only did a couple of very small jobs which I was able to finish during my sons 3.5 hours per day in the nursery.