How to create landscape based on landscape contours/elevations from a property survey

Hey,
I am a young attorney who was an engineer before going to the dark side. As a result, I have some experience with computer aided drafting and some programming. I would like to use blender to create some 3d models for a pending environmental case. I would like to create a landscape that illustrates the exact topography of the property at issue before development. I am trying to find the easiest way to do this. I can import the property survey with all the elevation lines as a background image. From here I am at a loss for an easy solution. In Autocad we can draw a line that follows the contours of the background image and then pull that line up to the correct elevation. Any suggestions? I hope I am missing an easy option. Below is a small of example of something similar to what I am trying to follow.

Thanks,
Matthew

I don’t think there is an “easy” solution for this. I have a friend who has been searching for years for such an import pipeline for Blender.

If you can get a DEM file for the land in question you are at a better starting point.

A simple scan of, like you have displayed, leaves you at the point of hand tracing it, then roughing out the elevations.

The easiest way I can think of would be to use an image editor to fill every stripe in that map in a different shade of grey (in a gradient from black for the lowest areas to white for the highest) and add it as a displacement modifier (create texture using the image, then select the texture for the modifier) to a fairly subdivided plane.

an other way: draw the lines in inkscape and import the svg, join, convert to mesh and use bridge from LoopTools addon to bridge contours in pairs… just did a quick test and worked for me.