How to drastically improve Blender’s modeling workflow

I have two requests that in my option would make Blender’s modeling workflow friendlier and way way faster.

1. The 3d cursor should not be attached to a mouse button, but only be available after entering a hot key. I almost never use the 3d cursor. In place of the 3d cursor, Blender should default to “Select with” Left Mouse and also have the “Emulate 3 Button Mouse” feature selected.

2. When making selections in the edit mode, Blender should default to clearing your selection every time you select new components (vert/edge/face), unless a hot key is selected, such as “Shift” to add to the selection.

Hopefully I have overlooked some features and someone can point out an existing way that matches my workflow requests.

I have been doing 3d for 20 years and think that Blender is the best thing that has happened to the 3d community. So, I would love to see these requests in Blender to make it even better.

If there are any engineers that can make this happen, I would be willing to help in any way I can.

Thanks.

Welcome to the forums!

At the moment, (from what I gather) a lot of that stuff is coded straight into Blender, meaning changing it isn’t as simple as it could be. However, the rewrite of 2.5 will allow custom hotkeys and such, so at a guess, you will be able to change this easily yourself and others who are used to the way it works already can keep using it as such.

Cheers,
Ben.

Yes and lets throw in transparent navigation of 3D space in an ACTIVE command with orbit/turntable on mmb and put axis constraint on shift+mmb or similar? You can zoom on the wheel, pan on the mouse button but not orbit / turntable on mmb in an active command??. Or am I missing something with user prefs?