How to edit characters without losing posing?

Hello!

I am new here and have been working with Blender for some time.

My application is the printing of buildings and characters for the model railroad in scale H0 = 1:87.
I design buildings in Fusion360. Then I use Blender to provide the surfaces with textures (roughcast, wood grain. etc.).
This works very well so far.

My problem are the characters I design them with MakeHumen. Import them into Blender to show different poses.
So far OK.

But if I want to change something at the clothes and switch to the edit mode, the characters takes the basic pose.
I have now already found hints on the internet that one should do the following:
basemesh → bake shape keys and possibly delete helpers.

As a beginner I neither understand the meaning of these commands, nor can I find them in the many, many menus and forms.

Where exactly, in which mode do I have to execute these commands? What exactly happens there?

Thanks for your help
Jan

Hi. Try turning on these two options…
Edit Mode
Then edit mode is the same as object or pose mode.

Thanks for your fast answer!
Where do I find this Icons in which mode?

Since I want to learn and not only push buttons: What are the buttons for?

Thanks a lot
Jan

Welcome :tada:

well since you use other app:

to use them in blender there is the problem (like with any other app) that you have to have some knowledge about the thing which are imported into blender and why those are what they are… or in short:

You have to know a bit about blender to use it…

So the menue Help → Manual … will help… and

well. if you look up armature the you will see… alsoyou imported object from MakeHuman is very thight to blender and the importer has proberly added and blender armature to the model…

In the Modifiers Properties (right side Wrench Icon ) you find it… and also if you hover with thr mouse cursor over the icons you get some more hints…

…so…
Happy Blending…