how to find the first and last vertices of a mesh?

im new to the mesh api and am trying to find out how to identify the first and last vertex manually or through python so i can mark them so when i search through a large mesh of combined sub mesh’s to find marked vertices with a Certain color. on a cube for example u got the 8 verts. should i just read in the mesh to a list and print out the list and look at the first and last? will that stay true after the mesh is combined of with the order change after?

I can do a face, but not a verticy,

When a face is struck with rayCast() it can return a material, I use this in my logic cubes as addresses,

but you can’t assign a material to only 1 vert…

You can get individual vertices from a mesh like so:

import bge

# get the object's mesh
cont = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
obj = cont.owner
mesh = obj.meshes[0]

# get the first vertex
firstVert = mesh.getVertex(0, 0)

# get the last vertex
lastIndex = mesh.getVertexArrayLength(0) - 1
lastVert = mesh.getVertex(0, lastIndex)

First and last are very relative descriptions. What is the relation you are referring to?

in other words:
What do you mean with first vertex and last vertex?

I’m looking to make a minecraft type game. Basically I want to have a cube and set the first vert and last vert to a color. duplicate the cube a bunch of times. Then combined them into one big mesh Then use a ray to get the hit face I want(should be able to use the face to get the vert attached to it). Then seach the mesh for the hit vert using some sort of loop to get all the verts between my marked verts. After that ill move the verts to like -10000 or something like that giving the impression the it has been removed. Then recalculate physicsmes. Uggg that was hard to type on my phone lol. Do u get what I’m trying to do now?

What monster is getting at is that we don’t have a definition of first and last. Are you sorting by distance to the camera, height, random number?