How to fix overlapping faces, Z-fighting?

Hi

(Complete newbie to Blender, have the Essential Blender book etc.)

(Executive summary: made a text object, extended and bevelled, with overlapping letters: many of the faces are overlapping and causing z-fighting)

I’m trying to make a ‘logo’. I added a text object, adjusted the spacing so the characters are slightly overlapping, and added some depth, and a bevel.

Converted to a mesh but all the while there are lots of faces from different letters occupying the same plane/space. I know from a bit of game development and graphics knowledge this manifests itself as ‘z-fighting’ when rendered.

I want to merge these overlapping faces, however edge, face, vertex manipulation by hand is way too fiddly, the faces generated are not trivial. I have tried splitting each letter into its own mesh, and merging them using the Boolean union operation, no luck, same but converting tris to quads or vice versa, no luck. As a single mesh I tried removing duplicate vertices, no luck, etc etc.

I just can’t find a way to do it, ie merge the faces or something like that, in Blender! Mathematically it really seams fairly straightforward to do: find two triangles which are overlapping,calculate the resulting polygon, then convert that polygon back to triangles and replace the first two… rinse and repeat until there are no more triangles overlapping.

Is there any operation which will fix this? I figured I’d start off easy: get some text, extend it into 3d space, voila… :confused: Any help would be greatly appreciated, of course!

Thanks
Kieren

The simplest way is to just use Lux to render the image. I discovered that Lux does not support the ugly feature of rendering overlapping faces as black, like the Blender Internal does.