How to get Cycles?

Hi

I am fairly new to blender and it has come to my understanding that the render engine Cycles is alot better than the built in one. Do i need cycles? Problably not yet since I still havn’t learnt to use blender enough, but if i keep going with blender, i might need it, so i figured why not add cycles in the learning process.

But anyways, I’ve been searching the net for a couple of hours on how to get it (I know that i should download it from graphicall.org) but then what? All i get is a zip file with a bunch of crap in it.
I’ve managed to find an .exe file wich is blender with cycles i assume. But is that the Blender you need to use? Because if I extract the new one it won’t start.

So this has been very frustrating since everyone keep saying “just download it” But how do you install it? I want to remember that it’s and addon(?), can’t seem to find any instruction on it either…

So can a kind soul please explain to me how this is done? Going mad over here (oh and yea, you might have already guessed it, but computors is not my strongest side)

Thanks!

Ps, i have windows 7 64 bit and blender 2.59 if that matters

Better stay out from experimental branches if you do not understand what “a bunch of crap” in zip file and cannot help with developing or testing. Really, use official stable Blender releases from blender.org site. Cycles will be merged in next release, 2.61.

Hi Shatarpi. If you want to try out cycles (which i think is a great idea), go to Graphicall.com , do a search for cycles and grab the latest. Download the zip file, and unzip. These builds need no installation, just navigate to blender.exe

Hi and thank you for your reply!

I did as u said, got the latest and unzipped it and got like a new blender. Witch cycles ofcourse, but now i scratch my head thinking “is this the only blender i should use?” or should i somehow merge them together?