How to have 2 weight paints in the same place without a conflict

How to make such squash and stretch deformation and eyelids rig in the same place?

In maya there is such setup of layers where you copy mesh of the head and the eyeball, do a weight paint on it with new bone to make head and eyeball squash and stretch, and then apply it as a target to the blendshape of the main geo.

I’m not necessary asking how to make similar setup in blender, just want to know how to have 2 weight paints( squash and stretch weight paints and eyelids) in the one place without a conflict

I am not an expert, but did you try to create 2 different vertex groups one for each weight paint?

Maybe I am saying something stupid, cause I don’t work with rigging. But I thought I should mention that.

Well, probably my question has nothing to do with your topic.

No, weights from Bone affects weights of Bone.001

That’s a shame but it doesn’t look right.

I’ve find out that if you make 2 separated armatures the weight paint of one is not affected by the weight of the second one. I am not sure if this helps.

Made some more tests, but it seems to mess up after a wile. Sorry.

Generally, squash and stretch is done using drivers and constraints rather than extra weights like in rigify, for example.

In theory, you could use 2 armature objects and combine them by constraints, but that’s likely to have a lot of issues to sort out.

Hi, you can simply parent all your deform bones to another bone, and transform that bone for squash/stretch. For more complex deformations you can use a lattice but bones won’t visibly “follow” the squashed mesh, even though they will still correctly influence it.

When you have an armature, the armature modifier reads normalized weights: if you have two deforming bones, and your weights for those bones are 1.0 and 1.0, then each bone has equal influence: each bone has half influence: 1.0/(1+1).