How to I turn a circle into a path so a 'planet' follows it?

Hi,

I am new to Blender (version 2.62) and am after help with a problem I have gotten stuck on.

I am wanting to simulate a planet orbiting the Sun. To keep it simple, I am using a UV sphere as the ‘planet’ (with no detail added at this stage) and have placed a circle at the centre of the animation. I have been trying to work out how to turn the circle into a path so that I can make the UV sphere move around the circle/path so that it looks like it is a planet orbiting a star (which I will add later).

I have been looking on the web in the Blender 2.6 on-line manual and have found written instructions on how to turn a circle into a path there. However, regardless of if I am object mode or edit mode, I can’t find part of the panel the instructions refer to.

I would really appreciate some help with this.

Regards,

Paul Floyd.

If I understand your question correctly, then I don’t think you need to setup a path. If you want to rotate one object around another (in a perfect circle), then you can simply put a constraint between the “Planet” and the “Sun” then rotate the Sun, which will move the Planet around with it. This will simulate a geostationary orbit.

If you don’t want the Sun object to rotate with the constraint (a non-geostationary orbit) then instead, put an empty inside the Sun, and put the constraint between the Planet and the empty, and rotate the empty. This method is commonly used to “spin” an object in front of the camera, or rather, spin a camera around an object, for exhibition purposes.

You need to add a Curve Circle. Press shift A, select Curve and then select circle. To get the planet to move around it; select the planet, add a Follow Path constraint and animate the Offset.