How to improve aliasing?

blendertest

(CarlG) #1

First attempt with Eevee (which required hours of work hooking up nodegroup inputs to values, and I probably even missed a few) based on a Cycles setup. I showed the 3 minute render to a college and (although I can spot other things) the only thing he really commented on was the bad aliasing artefacts on the floor:

Note that windows have blinds (it’s a projected screen cinema setup, so it makes sense to have ti dark/light controlled), so world is not hooked up.

These are the Render settings:

And these are the Preferences (system):

So a lot of things are upped from the defaults with no apparent effect on the aliasing. What do I need to do to improve this?

Note that this is my first attempt with Eevee (I used to get crashes within 1 minute), so I have no idea if probes/materials are well setup.

(yogyog) #2

Strange. Your floor is pixelated. Just your floor. I thought at first it was a low-res texture, but it’s pixelated relative to the screen. Very strange. Try making a new floor and see how that works.

(mib2berlin) #3

Hi, there are also settings in the Render Menu > OpenGL Render Settings > Anti Alias Samples

Cheers, mib

(CarlG) #4

Tried 5 and 16 without a difference. Tried 512 samples in the sampling menu without a difference. Tried the full sample setting on without a difference.

I’m using builtin brick texture generator (mortar for boards/bump and another one to generate color which is used to lookup a texture map randomly), and the problem seem to be where the mortar mask is used as a bump. Mortar size is 0.001 and mortar smooth doesn’t seem to matter - the problem is more evident where the bump bevel catches light.

(zanzio) #5