How to Install on Linux

I’m running a dual boot system having recently installed Ubuntu 5.04 to my second drive (XP Home on master drive). I have an Athlon 64 bit chip so the Ubuntu is a 64 bit version.

I’d like to run Blender on Ubuntu. I assume I should download the Blender version Linux PPC 2.3.2 (6.4 MB) from the download site.

The instructions to install are:

Download the file blender-#.##-linux-glibc#.#.#-ARCH.tar.gz from the downloads section of the Blender Website. Choose to download it (if prompted), select a location and click “Save”. Then navigate to the location you wish blender to install to (e.g. /usr/local/) and unpack the archive (with tar xzf /path/to/blender-#.##-linux-glibc#.#.#-ARCH.tar.gz). If you like, you can rename the resulting directory from blender-#.##-linux-glibc#.#.#-ARCH to something shorter, e.g. just blender.

However as a Linux newbie I don’t actually know what this means. For example does it mean I can just save the file to desktop then go into the /usr/local folder then go to command line and type xzf /path/to/blender-2.37a-linux-glibc2.3.2-powerpc.tar.tar

Where does the ARCH and gz come from? Also how can I create anything in the local file when it doesn’t even allow me to create a folder there. Also how do I know if I’m openGL.

the PPC version is for Mac, as far as I know …

Try to search for “64bits” and things like that in the blender general forum.

You might be right about the PPC bit. My question is more along the lines of how do you install things in Linux. With Windows its easy just click on the installer.

Linux != Windows.

Ubuntu has its own package-management system. Much easier than Windows. Just open up synapitic, search for blender and install. Though the blenderversion that’s in ubuntu 2.36 and not the new 2.37a.