How to license a model using external kitbash assets

Firstly, I am very new to Blender artists, so forgive me for my lack of knowledge about this.
I am working on a hard surface model, which I am planning on releasing for the Blender community. I would like to distribute it under a CC0 license.
The only problem is that I use a few parts (by that I mean 5-6 pieces) from a non-CC0 kitbash kit (link here). So does that mean that I can’t distribute it with a CC0 license?
Also, say I choose to retopologize the model manually. By this, I mean that I re-model the whole thing from scratch during retopo and I won’t be using any kitbash pieces. If I do that, can I then offer it as a CC0 model?

It does clearly state " Reselling these assets is not allowed"

You’re not technically selling stuff. But… distributing something CC0 implies you created it or have permission to distribute.

People getting your model CC0 might end up reusing parts. Why not get in touch with the artist and ask for permission. They might be fine if it’s just a couple of parts and you give credit

Thank you very much. I will definitely do that.

1 Like

In addition, I used a few brush alphas from pixologic’s alpha library in some sculpted parts. They say this about the licensing:

They can be modified or used for both personal and commercial purposes, without asking for permission or giving credits to the artists. However, you may not distribute these resources to others, either for sale or free of charge.

The “distribute” part is what confuses me - does it mean distributing the alpha file itself, or anything you make with it? And are they compatible with CC0? (Sorry for the added question)