How to List Existing Armatures in Panel

Hi all :),

I’m a beginner python and blender programmer. Right now I’m having a dilemma on how to:

1. list existing armatures in the current scene?
  2. put the list into the UI Panel via drop-down box?
  3. select an armature through said drop-down box?

Basically, I want to create the ability to see all existing armatures and select either one from a drop down box in the UI panel. So far, I can create the list and the drop-down box but separately. If I try to add the list into the panel, Blender gives me an error. Can anyone shed some light? :smiley:

Also, is it possible to update the drop-down box panel in real-time automatically? (eg: a new armature is created, and is automatically listed and shown in the UI panel)

Thanks in advance!

this should help

import bpy
scn = bpy.context.scene

bpy.types.Scene.OOB = bpy.props.StringProperty()

class OBJECT_PT_oblist(bpy.types.Panel):
    bl_label = "ArmList"
    bl_space_type = "VIEW_3D"
    bl_region_type = "TOOLS"
    bl_context = "objectmode"

def draw(self, context):
        scn = context.scene
        layout = self.layout
        col = layout.column()        
        col.label('list of armatures')
        col.prop_search(scn, "OOB",  bpy.data, "armatures")

def register():
    bpy.utils.register_class(OBJECT_PT_oblist)

def unregister():
    bpy.utils.unregister_class(OBJECT_PT_oblist)

if __name__ == "__main__":
    register()

@teldredge
Thanks a lot for the help! That has swiftly solved the drop-down box issue :smiley: A couple of beginner’s questions though:

1. what does
bpy.types.Scene.OOB = bpy.props.StringProperty()

exactly do? I figured it’s creating a custom property of parent type String, but why from bpy.types.Scene?

1. so col.prop_search actively search for “armature” types in all data (bpy.data) in the current scene (scn), is that correct? What does “OOB” do in the parameter?