How to make a blender tutorial

Not sure if this is the wrong area - but I am looking to make a short blender based tutorial for some of the tricks I learnt. Simplified like on the basis of self-taught person to self taught people.

But I am not entirely sure as to how to go about doing it?

What other programs do you use to record your blender information???

*** Moderation ***
moved from: Tutorials, Tips and Tricks
reason: it is a support request, as it is not really fit into the existing support categories -> CG Discussions

I use macos and quicktime allow me to record screen and add microphone . I do things in one go. I use iMovie for edits. Youtube for uploads.

I have also used Windows movie maker, not bad. I prefer iMovie of course, but not bad.

Very simple really.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Vitals/Screencasts

I am not a fan of pure video tutorials. I prefer text, images and short videos.

me too, but videos are way faster and easier to make. Writing is 2-3 times slower. If you add images too to you documentation make it 5 times slower at least. No wonder why video tutorials greatly outnumber written tutorials. To able to document in 1 hour what otherwise would take you 5 hours is a huge deal.

Written tutorials of course are much easier to edit, but the answer to that for video tutorials, is as you said it, short videos. Braking down your tutorials to 6 minutes segments make it easier to edit and improve later on. Though I dont mind redoing an hour - 30 minutes tutorial if it is that important.

Also video tutorials can capture down to small details, like technique and tiny workflow characteristics.

Cam Studio seems to be pretty commonly used.

A few tips…
1)Use audio. If you don’t have a microphone, buy a cheap one. Tutorials without audio are a pain to follow and I usually skip over them.