How to make a bubble shield?

Hello blenderartists. I wasn’t sure what section to post this in since it is not technically modeling, more like texturing… (and this is for an animation, not the game engine) Anyway, I am trying to make a bubble shield complete with transparency and hexagonal plating. Here is an example of what I am referring to:

I have a work-in-progress model, but I can’t get it quite right.
http://cdupload.com/files/​169562_fetqx/hexSphere.ble​nd
and another attempt: http://cdupload.com/files/​169565_zwvsm/hexSphere.ble​nd

I would much appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

Just my opinion, and I am not an expert, but get rid of the hex faces on the sphere. also the smoke inside is sort of funky. Try to add some caustics instead. Well, you asked didn’t you?

What smoke are you referring to? I don’t believe I wanted any smoke or caustics.
Also, I am keeping the hex faces, since my goal is to replicate that picture I posted and it has hexagons…
Thanks for the input though!

Well I cant think of what its called but it looks like there’s some sort of texture mapping technique that warps the image behind it. Like a lense kind of effect. Not sure blender could do that, especially not in realtime.

The warping technique seems to be refraction, but it is only happening on the lines between the hexagonal plates. I am not sure how to have the sphere only refract on a certain portion of the object without using a separate material for the lines between the plates. Also, this does not need to happen in real-time as I said that my project is not for the game engine, but rather for animation/still rendering.
Thanks for the input!

@ Minifig
It looks quite good. I don’t understand what trouble you’re having with it.

Ok, you got me, I just skimmed over your post XD
And yes, refraction is the word! Would it work to use normal maps to create a kind of lense shape?