How to make a Crystal Ball

I’m trying to make a Crystal Ball for the Light Wizzard, so far, I have a Transparent Sphere, with a Circle with a Face inside that has its texture set to a Movie or Image, what I’ll need to do is a Mist, but I want other effects, maybe some Compositing to get them, but I’m not that good, and need help, and I can not find a Tutorial on this, can anyone help.

Thanks.

I’m not an expert - and haven’t done specifically what you’re seeking. But I think I know enough to say that you’re probably going to have to pick up on a handful of techniques to achieve this, and it will probably take a couple of hours (depending).

There might not be a Tutorial for creating crystal balls, specifically, but each of the little techniques themselves all probably have multiple tutorials.

For the smaller sphere that has the “Image/Movie as Texture” applied, my guess would be that you could likely achieve the misty sort of look that you’re trying to achieve with the various Texture and Material settings. At the bottom of the Texture panel, you’ve probably already seen that you can make the texture itself semi-transparent and give it some reflectivity. For a blur effect, it might be mandatory to use Nodes. I’m new to them, myself. But there are many Tutorials on Vimeo and YouTube. If you type in, “Blender Nodes Materials”, I’m sure that at least a dozen helpful tutorials will be offered. (For myself, this is precisely how I learn: by giving myself tasks - like yours with the crystal ball - and then learning as I’m creating it.)

After you’re comfortable with the Nodes, you can probably just apply a Gaussian Blur filter to the outer sphere, and that will be sufficient to acheive the “mist” aspect of things. But if that blur is not quite good enough, then I’m sure that the Particles will be a good Plan B (though more complex).