How to make a tree

I’m currently working on a project, a little house in a snowy landscape. You can view an early WIP screenshot here:

http://members.home.nl/verwijlen/house_wip1.jpg

As you could have guessed, I now want to add some trees to the scene. Just simpel trees, without leaves. Here’s a photo of how I want them to be:

http://members.home.nl/verwijlen/house_sample.jpg

The problem is, I’m still quite new to Blender, and I can’t think of any way to build such trees (I tried a tree generator, but that didn’t really work). So any help would be really appreciated, thanks in advance!

Did you try Lsystem in python and plugins?

I have to admit, I have no idea what you’re talking about :-|.

Follow the link in my sig to find out how to use python scripts.

And here is a link to a ‘tree.blend’ that was the precursor to lsystem and is much easier to use. Will probably only work with 2.23 and may work without a python install (no promises)

http://honk.physik.uni-konstanz.de/~strubi/3d/python/

To model a tree yourself add a circle and extrude it upwards scaling and moving each exytude to give you taper and varience. Then go back and select one or two faces where you want the branches, and extrude them the same way using rotate to get them bent. Then use the proportion editing tool ‘O’ to move things around. Keep it low poly till you need to add detail.

%<

Hi soulsaver,

Check out the information in the posts here:

www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15708&highlight=alpha+trees

I used the information to make 2d trees look like 3d. It works great for trees with leaves. If you can find tree pictures without leaves, it should work the same.

The tree.blend file is unavailable for download, so I guess that won’t work. I don’t know if you get a realistic looking tree by just extruding circles, but I can try. Thanks for the tips.