How to make an in-game slider control?

Hi,

I want to make a slider-control to work in-game (like you often see for in-game audio controls etc). You click on the slider knob and move it with the mouse, and then the position is used to change another object’s property. I’m still learning Blender and am not sure where to begin.

I’m sure this has been explained in a tutorial somewhere. I even think I saw such a tutorial but can’t find it again now I need it! Can anybody point me in the direction of such a tutorial please (or give a brief explanation of how to do it)?

Thanks!

There would be lots of ways to do it and lots ways to present a slider to the user. The slider could be a control on a panel and the panel could be an overlay. Or the slider could be 3D object in the scene. And would you want to be able to drag the slider or click and hold on up/down buttons or both? Or you can simulate an overlay by parenting buttons and sliders up close to the camera. These are very good exercises for a beginner.

A basic exercise could be to place two cubes on the X axis about 10 units apart. Are you able to click or click and hold on one cube and have the other cube move along the axis? If you can do that you know how to change another objects property and get it to do something as it’s property changes.

To click on an object and drag it is trickier. You can do it in a similar way that the “mouselook” scripts rotate a camera, except that instead of applying torque you would apply force or displacement along the sliding objects axis. Understand the mouselook script and you will find it gives you all kinds of ideas.

You click on a slider activating the script and have the mouse “freeze”. As you move the mouse the mouse pointer jerks around but returns to the frozen spot. Within the script, which resembles a mouselook script, the vertical jiggles of the mouse pointer can be applied as a force to the slider.