How to Make Finer Details?

I know this is kinda a dumb question, but I’m fairly noob and I’m making this

And I’m kinda hazy on how to make the finer details. Here’s a picture of my current model,

I figured I could sculpt it on, but I can’t sculpt very well, it looks messy. Would anyone be able to help me or at least point me to a helpful tutorial? I’m not very good at Blender, I’m a programmer by trade :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks.

You can unwrap the UV from the model, and paint the details in a image editor like photoshop or gimp, and using the painted map for displacement, if you won’t export the model, only rendering, you can subdivide the part you want details, so the map will look much better, otherwhise you make a copy of the model, apply the map, and bake it.
I do hope this helps a little: https://youtu.be/_dU3DONwSzU

2 Likes

If the camera won’t get any closer than this you might be able to get away with a bump map instead of actual displacement and a small amount of very very simple sculpting to raise up some areas.

1 Like

For the crystal, I would suggest procedural texturing, to create roughness and bump, and then combine with some type of glass material.

For the ornamental stuff, your best shot might be modelling it and then use subdiv on it, or maybe applying a UV unwrapped bump or displacement, that is geometrically correct, and you import it from the “outside”.

3 Likes

If you need clarification on any of the answers so far, just ask.

1 Like

Hmm, I’ll check it out. Thing is I’m even worse at drawing than I am at 3D modelling lol, but thank you, I’ll watch the video :slight_smile:

It’s for a 3D print, actually. So displacement is necessary, the final product will be solid white(sorry, I should’ve mentioned)

I’ll try it out, I wonder the shader will show up on a 3D print, though? I guess if I added some normal displacement?

1 Like