how to model a lobster antennule? (n00b question)

Hi all, I am a PhD student in engineering, and a complete n00b to Blender and CAD software (though I’ve been reading…). I need to create a digital model of a lobster antennule (long story there…) that can be fed into a fluid dynamics code that solves for water flow around the (rigid) structure. I would be going off of actual measurements of real specimens - the model must be completely well defined (no ambiguous lengths, angles, or features that are not known precisely). I’m not sure that Blender is the right program for this, and if not, I am open to commercial software (there’s a fair chance I can obtain even high-end software like Pro/E or NX since I’m an academic user at a large university). Any advice on what program is best, or good modeling techniques for this problem, is very much appreciated! Here are my concerns/needs:

Since a lobster antennule is somewhat “curvy,” perhaps a combination of constructive geometry and free form modeling might be best? The structure consists of a cylindrical stalk, with many rows of hairs (some straight, some curved) lining the stalk in a specific, repeating pattern and orientation. The physical scales span centimeters (stalk length) to micrometers (hair diameter), though initially I may just do a millimeter long subsection. I’d like the ability to easily modify model properties (change an orientation angle or hair diameter or number of hairs).

The export format would ideally be a text file consisting of all the vertex coordinates of a surface mesh. All I need to model and save is the surface shape. It sounds like the STL format may work. The need for a universal, simple export format is critical for use in the CFD code later.