How to paint on a repeating texture

hi , I’m pretty new to blender so I apologize if this question is obvious.
i modeled of a cloth piece and i added an image texture over it using texture coordinate and a mapping node, and because the texture seemed large i turned the scale in the mapping node to 2 , but now i want to paint something over the image and what ever i paint is repeated 4 times over my object. is there any way to fix this inside blender? thanks.

Paint on top of a new image that you then blend with nodes as desired.

Perhaps there was some problem when creating the initial quad. As for example if you take the primitive quad and duplicate it 4 times (then merging overlapping vertices) it will result to duplicating coordinates. You can use a primitive grid (Add Mesh > Grid) so having UVs generated properly.

Now if you are interested to save this mesh instead of making it again.
You would do again a brand new UV unwrap. And fix UVs to square dimensions.

Looks like you are doing CG Boost’s tutorial of the apple, so in Video 10 on transparent images…
First reset you texture mapping back to 1,1,1
Take the cloth and back in the UV map…select all of the uv and then SCALE UP outside of the image texture till you get the size of texture you want…Use LookDev mode to watch how it looks.

Section 10 Video at 3.00