How to reset UI but still keeping the model

I was wondering,

is it possible to reset the UI (user Interface) and still keep the model.
I’m new to blender, just started with version 2.58.1 but sometimes I get blend files with a whole other UI. I like to change the UI to version 2.58.1 so that I can find my “tools” :wink:

When you open one of these blends untick the ‘Load UI’ option in the blender file browser. You can se this to be the default behaviour in the user preferences.