How to Rig an AT-AT neck and head?

Hey all, this is my first post!
I’ve been using Blender for about a year and a half now, but I’m wanting to start doing some modeling for animation. The project that I’m working on right now is an Imperial AT-AT walker from Star Wars, but I’m having trouble animating the neck and head. I need to have the neck be flexible and move like you would expect a plastic corrugated pipe, or something similar, to bend and flex. I would post a picture if I were able to but I don’t have enough posts yet lol.

At the moment I am using an array of rings with a curve modifier on them to follow a curve. By grabbing one end of the curve it achieves the bending effect I want, but I have no idea how to attach the head to the end… Idk if bones would be necessary for this kind of thing, and I have no experience with them yet.

Any suggestions or improvements are appreciated!

Unless you’re animating only a cube-- always make an armature for it.

The curve method you’re currently using to bend the neck would work for a single frame render… but not an entire animation.

Since the neck would probably be the only part of the mesh that would need to be slightly deformed (though since it’s made of metal, it technically shouldn’t bend at all) it should be quite easy to do. You need to watch some videos on the basics of rigging so you can learn about armatures/bones, bone relationships, bone constraints, vertex groups, and vertex weights. Once you learn this you’ll easily be able to do what you explained.

It might take some trial and error when you’re first delving into it but that’s the best way to fully learn it.

Thanks for the feedback, I’ll watch some tutorials today and learn what I can!