How to save effects alpha

Hi everybody!
How can I save the alpha for, lets say a glare effect? I see in the output node that the alpha is rendered correctly, I mean the transparency of the glare effect, but when I save it to PNG or TIFF it only saves the original alpha of the image (before the glare node).
Is it a bug?

Huh, it looks like the fileoutput node does not support alpha, only Z.

So yes, it is a bug, or more accurately a feature not yet implemented.

I see, I was hoping that wouldn’t be the case. It’s a shame because I can see the glare’s alpha perfectly rendered in the node viewer but have no way to save it. I guess I’ll have to suggest it as a feature.
Thanks

File output supports alpha, it just uses the alpha that’s included in the color line rather than have a separate line for alpha. I’ve used it many times before. Be sure you have the output in the main render settings set to RGBA not RGB, or else it won’t work.

Hi, LazyCoder (I’m a Lazy Designer)
Yes, I know how to save images with an Alpha channel, the problem is that anything you can composite wich affects alpha and even alpha afected transparency, doesn’t get saved.
I have a software package standing on a reflective floor and with a nice glare, and I want to export it to photoshop for a web desing. I want to use the apha of my reflection and glare to put the image over a background, and choose any color I want for the background but…It’s impossible (well maybe almost impossible since maybe someone comes up with a solution).
Not the transparency alpha, nor the transparency of the glare get saved in any alpha supporting format in Blender.
You can do this easily in 3dsMax, but I love Blender soooo much:yes:…

Yeh, I noticed that too. I got around this by using a seperate render layer, converting the color to black and white adjusting the curves and using that output as the alpha layer in the combiner node.

click RGBA button to save alpha channel.