How to set default value of tool when editing?

I have just switched to the new release of Blender and am now finding that one of the changes is severely effecting my workflow.

When merging vertices together (Alt+M) Blender now defaults to merging UVs as well. So I am having to untick the “UVs” box every time which is extremely frustrating.

Is there a way to get Blender to remember that I don’t like this?

Many thanks

Go to User Preferences (Ctrl+Alt+U) and press the Input tab.

Type “merge” in the search bar. Open the Merge keymap under Mesh and unselect ‘UVs’

Then save User Preferences (Ctrl+U)

Thank you so much! That works great!