How to simulate CNC cutting

I wan’t to simulate CNC cutting in Blender 2.8 and I can’t find a way to do it. Basically the milling tool need to remove or hide the part of a mesh on another object. The part that I want to stimulate is very simple and only couple of tool passes. IF someone have a suggestion how to do it I will be very thankful.

Im a machinist by trade so this thread kind of stuck in my mind…
Just came across this thread which a person wants to do the opposite of you (build something rather then remove somthing), but maybe it will help, someone suggested using the ‘build modifier’.

Disclamer: Im new to Blender :slight_smile:
Just played around alittle and came up with this… not elegant, not efficient and probably not the correct way to do it, but maybe it will spawn some ideas or can be used for something else, or maybe the visual will trigger input for people who are good with blender but not familiar with CNC terminology of the org post.

Added a cube for the stock to be cut.
Added a cylinder for the visual cutter that move across it.
Dupped the cylinder and jumped into edit mode, selected 1/2 the vertex’s and elongated (so it looks like a slot)
Animated the path for the cutters first pass with the first unedited cylinder
Parented the elongated to the round cylinder
Selected the cube and added a Boolean Modifier and selected the elongated cylinder as the object to boolean with.
Selected the elongated cylinder and changed its view properties to not show in render.
Selected the visual cutter cylinder and animated the materials shader so once it finished the first pass, the Alpha would be zero, hiding it (also under material settings had to change both Blend and Shadow mode from Opaque to ‘Alpha Clip’ for transparency to work in Eevee)

For the second pass made a dup of all that and moved things around to take a second pass and added a second Boolean mod to the cube…