How to smooth out topology? As texture renders with "artifacts"

Hey all,

I have a model that has a lot of lines and shadows on it which are shown when I apply a texture to it in the web. What is the way to smooth out all these edges? I have triangulated all the edges and made sure they all exist on the same Z point (which took a lot of manual labour :sweat_smile:) although it didn’t seem to fix my issue.

In the first picture, you can see the different shades of light and dark which appear on my render.

And this is a preview of the render with the artifact also incuded:

Screenshot 2020-02-10 at 10.00.09

Can you post a wireframe, also make sure you have no overlapping faces to avoid Z fighting.

Sure! Here’s a wireframe. I tried to get the best angle for the corner that is causing the most problems. I have tried my best to make sure there are no overlapping faces and I can’t spot any. Although I am kinda new to blender and 3d modelling so I might be overlooking something.

Wireframe:

Looks like the cause is the closely packed triangles, the surface might also not be perfectly flat.

The geometry is also a bit of a mess, you should try and keep your mesh all quads (faces with 4 vertices) to keep it easy to work on. You can also use Ngons on flat surfaces.

An easy way to flatten out the vertices at the front is to select them all and then press S to scale and then constraining them to an axis and scaling to 0.

I thought as much although I selected all the vertices and they are all on the same Z axis. You can see here:

I will give your other recommendations a try. I have no idea how to constraint the scaling… but I will look into it :slight_smile:

After selecting them all, Press S to scale and then press X,Y or Z to select the axis. After that press 0 and then confirm. (in your case, it would be the Y axis)

I am at work currently without Blender so i can’t show an example.

1 Like