how to smooth stl before machinin

Hi. I am a complete CAD Blender novice and not very computer literate so please bear that in mind if answering.

I am using Blender to covert a 3d map from shapefile format to stl format for physical machining.

I have imported a digital terrain model/map into Blender as a shapefile. I have triangulated it and then exported as an stl file for machining.
The terrain model is now made of millions of tiny triangles, which are visible when I zoom in with an stl viewer.

I am wondering if there is a simple way to smooth the model so that the flat faces will not be visible in the finished product?
Can I increase resolution somewhere or interpolate between the faces or something? I want to make it look more natural with no straight lines visible to the eye. This applies to the output stl, not just the image visible in Blender.

If you answer, please assume that I know nothing about CAD or Blender and tell me where to find the tools I’m looking for, if they are available.

Many thanks in advance for your help.

You haven’t shown us anything so we can only guess what you have and what you want. Have you tried adding a subsuf modifier to make smaller faces. You will always have faces so you can only make them too small to be relevant http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Modifiers/Generate/Subsurf

If you want smoother cuts on your CNC from an STL file, you need to post process the G-Code.
Here is a script that converts straight-line (g1 cuts) to g2g3 arcs.
http://wiki.linuxcnc.org/cgi-bin/wiki.pl?LinesToArcs