HOW TO - Spawn object from diferent scenes

Hi dear members of the forum. I use Blender long time ago, but I’m totally new with the Game Engine.

In my game (similar to Bomberman in the pic), they’ll be 20 different stages, with 10 different maps each one. All maps from same stage uses the SAME objects (bombs, items, blocks, etc) and only difference are blocks arrangement basically.

I did all objects in a Scene called ‘Objects’. And did Stages in Scenes called Stage01, Stage02, etc… and put in each layer the different arrangement of how blocks will be organized.

My question is, how can I spawn an object from a scene (‘Objects’) to other scene (‘Stage 01’)? As u can see in the pic, in the actuator ‘edit object’ says I can add objects from other scenes, but when PRESS PLAY, nothing appears (until I put in the same scene).

• I know I can do this by making ‘linked copies’ of all needed object from one scene to other, but for me makes no much sense copy same object so many times (20 stages x 10 maps = 200 times same object), is there and easier and cleaner way?

Thanks a lot to all for your valuable help.

Attachments

As far as I know the drop down box for object only displays all objects that are present in that scene. Maybe ‘Cube’ showed up because you made a instance of that object in the current scene?

Anyway, looking at your problem, I think you could do it two ways. You could ‘Make Links…-> Objects to Scene… (select Scene)’, which you already suggested. Or you could create your game in just one scene, but update it from one state to the next. For this you would probably need Python. A third way would be to use Python too (bge.logic.LibLoad()).

I hope someone would correct me if I there’s another way with logic bricks only.

You can only add objects that exist in the current scene. Basicly addObject creates a copy of an existing object.

You can dynamically load objects from a blend file into the current scene with LibLoad.